Nude, yeah?

Nude.

Big Nudes - Helmut Newton

So I have been wondering for awhile now the relevance in shooting nudity. I mean to me it always seemed an easy excuse for art. Take a photo of a girl naked and instantly you have something beautiful and artistic. But really is it? I mean the human form, whether male or female is most certainly beautiful and mysterious, but then isn’t that a cop out? That was my way of thinking until I re-discovered the works of Helmut Newton. He shot nudes, but he gave them character. With him the naked body became a canvas with which to present mood, strength and  true art. He didn’t shoot nudes for the sake of the nudity itself, he used the nakedness as one part of a whole bigger theme, something that I think many photographers don’t do.

Helmut Newton is Nicotine. Big, long hair is Nicotine. Girls with nice eyes are Nicotine.

Leigh holding a book by Helmut Newton, with long hair and big eyes, She Is Nicotine.

3 Responses to “Nude, yeah?”

  1. death glareee

  2. Secret Admirer Says:

    try-hardism at its best.

  3. Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be coming back to your blog.

Leave a Reply

